The Community Awards are judged first by each local council and then by a region-wide panel. Each award attracts a monetary prize ranging from $250 to $5,000.

Wellington Airport Regional Community Awards ceremony at Te Papa

The awards are designed to recognise past achievements. Key factors considered during judging are:

  • the group’s volunteer input
  • how they use their resources
  • innovation and creativity
  • how effective their activities are, and
  • their impact within the community.

How the awards are judged

Council judging

Judging takes place within each council region first: Kapiti, Porirua, Lower Hutt, Upper Hutt and Wellington. The judging panel for each council selects winners and runners-up in each of the 6 categories:

  • Heritage and environment
  • Health and wellbeing
  • Arts and culture
  • Sport and leisure
  • Education and child/youth development, or
  • the Rising Star Award.

Each winner receives $1,000 and each runner up receives $250. The supreme winner for each of the 5 councils receives an additional $1,000 and a certificate.

The awards are announced and presented at a function hosted by each council’s mayor.

Region-wide judging

The Regional Awards are judged by a panel of the 5 regional mayors or their representatives, and a representative from the group that won the Supreme Award the previous year.

All the winning groups then come together at an awards dinner hosted by Wellington Airport. The following awards are announced:

  • a winner for the whole region in each of the 6 categories – each winning group receives $1,000 and a certificate
  • the Supreme Winner for the whole region – that group receives $5,000, a framed certificate and a trophy that they can keep for a year.

The Supreme Winner also represents Wellington at the Trustpower National  Community Awards.