The annual Wellington Airport Regional Community Awards recognise and reward the valuable contribution made by volunteer groups across the Wellington region.

Applications are now open – the deadline is 31 May 2018

A regional partnership

The Wellington Community Trust works in partnership with Wellington Airport and the 5 local councils – Kapiti, Porirua, Lower Hutt, Upper Hutt and Wellington – to recognise the work done by community groups.

Entering the awards

Anyone can nominate a group working in their community.

Nominations open in April each year and close at the end of May. Each regional council hosts a ceremony to honour the groups in their area. The winning groups then attend a gala occasion hosted by Wellington Airport when the category winners and the supreme winner is announced.

Entering the Community Awards

What the winners receive

The awards are provided by the Wellington Community Trust and Wellington Airport. Each winner receives $1,000 and the runners-up receive $250. The overall Supreme Winner receives $5,000.

Judging and awards


Follow the awards

Follow the Wellington Community Awards on Facebook

The overall supreme winner represents the region at the National Trustpower Community Awards.